Login or Register for best CarDekho experience

Bharat NCAP Crash Tests Will Start On December 15

Modified On Nov 02, 2023 11:26 AM By Ansh

More than 30 cars from brands like Tata, Hyundai and Maruti Suzuki are already lined up to be crash-tested by the organisation

  • Tata Harrier and Safari facelifts, which were recently tested at Global NCAP, will also be crash-tested at Bharat NCAP.

  • 3 cars from Maruti, 3 from Hyundai and 4 from Mahindra will also be crash-tested.

  • 5 key tests will be conducted: frontal impact, side impact, side pole impact, electronic stability control and pedestrian-compliant front design.

  • Each car will get a sticker with adult and child protection ratings, model name, variant name and test year.

The Bharat New Car Assessment Program, also referred to as BNCAP, was announced in late August 2023 to much acclaim. While it was announced that it will formally kick into action from October 1, fresh reports state that Bharat NCAP will start crash-testing Indian cars on December 15. It will be assigning them safety ratings, with detailed ratings specifically for adult occupant protection, child occupant protection and safety assist features.

Cars To Be Tested

As per the reports, more than three dozen cars will be crash-tested by Bharat NCAP. While a list of which cars will be tested is yet to be revealed, officials have said that the newly launched Tata Harrier and Safari facelifts will be part of the tests.

The names are not confirmed but we do have some details on how many are already lined up from certain mass-market brands. The report states that 3 cars from Maruti, 3 from Hyundai and 4 from Mahindra will be crash-tested by Bharat NCAP. The officials also stated that European carmakers like Renault, Skoda and Volkswagen have not yet aligned any models for these tests.

Also Read: Bharat NCAP vs Global NCAP: Similarities And Differences Explained

The organisation will take 3 units of the base variant of these cars for the crash tests.

Testing Parameters

Bharat NCAP’s testing parameters are similar to the ones of Global NCAP. Each car will go through 5 key tests: frontal impact, side impact, side pole impact, electronic stability control and pedestrian-compliant front design. Based on the results of these tests, the car will be awarded points for Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) and Child Occupant Protection (COP).

These points will then be translated into stars, ranging from 0 to 5, and these stars will be the comprehensive safety rating of the cars. All the cars tested by Bharat NCAP will get a sticker that shows their adult and child safety ratings, along with the model, variant name and test year. While Bharat NCAP tests are not mandatory, carmakers are eager to get their models crash tested expecting a high rating.

Also, to get more than 3 stars, Bharat NCAP has made some safety features mandatory including 6 airbags, electronic stability control and front seat belt reminders. Here are the minimum points needed for each star.

Adult Occupants Protection

Child Occupants Protection

Star rating


Star rating


5 stars


5 stars


4 stars


4 stars


3 stars


3 stars


2 stars


2 stars


Future Plans

The Indian government plans to keep updating the testing norms; and in some time, Bharat NCAP plans to add a rear crash impact protection test to the parameters. Also, in due time, the organisation will make the presence of select ADAS features (lane departure warning, brake assist, and autonomous emergency braking) mandatory for evaluation and for a better overall safety rating.

Also Read: Bharat NCAP: Here’s What Carmakers Said About The New Initiative For Safer Cars

Which cars do you want to see crash-tested at Bharat NCAP first? Let us know in the comments below.


Published by



Write your Comment

Post Comment
0 comment
Read Full News

Trending Cars

  • Latest
  • Upcoming
  • Popular
Rs.43.90 - 46.90 Lakh*
Rs.6 - 11.27 Lakh*
Rs.13.99 - 26.99 Lakh*
Rs.3.30 - 3.80 Cr*
*Ex-showroom Price in New Delhi