• Login / Register

Owner Driver's Review Of The Honda City

for 1.5 S MT

Owner Driver's Review Of The Honda City

 My wife Medini Chitnis received the keys of all new White Honda City SMT on 26th Aug 2010 at an elaborate ceremony at the Crystal Honda ShowRoom in Pune. We had made elaborate plans to drive North to Baroda>Ahmedabad>Jodhpur>Jaisalmer before that and I also purchased a Map My India GPS. I ran out 1000 km by 3rd September for the first service and we set course for Baroda on 06 Sept 2010. We returned to Pune from Jaisalmer on 22nd Sept 2010, got the second servicing done having crossed 5400 km. 26th September  we started from Pune on a road trip to Kerela and returned home to Pune on 04 Oct 2010. To date, I have burned rubber = 9,800 km in a short period of just 2 months. My Review of the Honda City. The running in paid almost Rs 9.75 lakhs for the car. Did the run in of the engine on the Pune-Mumbai  Expressway, revving up and down to 7000 rpm in all gears the first 3000 km.  Took the car to 170 kmph during the run in briefly.  Run in done I have kept the rpm at 4000 rpm max at all times. The engine is absolutely amazing.  With a little depression on the accelerator, the Honda touches  110 kmph, returning an incredible 16.9 kmpl on fuel consumption on the Expressway. In the City of Mumbai, she returns around 12 kmpl which is cool for a 1.5 litre engine. The 2nd and 3rd gear deliver plenty of torque which I really love, as I am addicted to torque.The drive quality of the car is super.  I give the V-Tech engine 9/10 marks. THE dashboard instruments very nicely designed though I  love the space-age instrument panel of the Civic much more. No cribs, though. I am really pleased that at any given time I get a display of the fuel consumption and also km to go for the level of fuel in the tank.  Points 8/10. Rear view and side view mirrors are absolutely great. The filter to cut off glare at night on the rear view mirror is a big plus for me. Points 9/10.  Seats are really comfortable. The air conditioning top class with amazing climate controls. The music system is adequate for my needs. Plenty of leg room forward and aft. What I hate is the cheap plastics all around me. Come on give me some leathers! Marks 8/10. Dikie/Trunk/Boot Plenty of space.    Driving on Indian highway  Now comes the moment of truth.  The Honda City is fit for  a)the City driving in large metros like Mumbai or Delhi.  b)Expressways only.  This car badly performs on National Highways and Indian Highways for one reason alone. Very small ground clearance. The Honda City is fine for highways in Malaysia or South Korea, not for Indian Highways. This car hits the bottom even at very slow speeds on the speed breakers anywhere in North and South India. My car’s bottom has taken a heavy beating to date. Having said that even after 8 hours on the wheel the driving stress is negligible. Points: 6/10   The braking system, no debate is absolutely reliable. My wife slammed the breaks at 70 kmph and the car came to a dead halt immediately. An Alto that rammed us from behind got smashed. The Honda City rear just suffered dents. So I guess the safety features are super. 9.5/10   Mountain roads are never smooth roads. Here again for poor ground clearance the Honda City is a failure. There is enough power to drive any road.    What Honda needs to know  1. Raise the ground clearance forward.  2. Jazz up the interiors with smart leathers get rid of plastics.  3. The headlights are bad too. Do something about that. Even my Pulsar 220 street bike has a more powerful beam than the Honda City!  4. Give an option to the buyer to select his own Music System.  5. The warning should come even if other passengers do not buckle up seat belts.  6. By default, headlights should switch on when the engine starts as per International norms.  7. Give a better tool kit including a good jack. What has been given to me is really flimsy and cheap. Shame shame !!  8. Make the Honda City driveable on Indian Highways. Seriously for people who like to travel long distances, Hond City is NOT the car for Indian Roads. You may be better off with a cheap Indian SUV like the Bolero or for that matter a Hyundai Santro i 10/20.      The last word Yes the car is Naish !!  

By nandu chitnis
On: Oct 22, 2010 | 4022 Views
  • 18 Likes
  • 6 Dislikes

Write your Comment on Honda City 2017-2020

1 comment
1
u
uday masram kv2jhansi
Mar 8, 2011 11:06:44 PM

hondacity iv-tech car is one of the amazing car in india

Read More...
    Reply
    Write a Reply

    Honda City 4th Generation User Reviews

    4.5/5
    Based on784 User reviews
    • All (784)
    • Mileage (209)
    • Performance (124)
    • Looks (237)
    • Comfort (309)
    • Engine (185)
    • Interior (129)
    • Power (113)
    • More ...
    • LATEST
    • HELPFUL
    • VERIFIED
    • CRITICAL
    • I Like Honda City

      Good experience with good filling and good mileage no maintenance with good service and good offer.

      By vishnu
      On: Aug 13, 2020 | 41 Views
    • Good Car...

      Comfortable family sedan. Nice city ride. Good audio quality. Best Ac. A lot of space inside the cabin.

      By kumar
      On: Nov 28, 2020 | 28 Views
    • Best Car

      The car was good but the only problem is the ground clearance of the car and the horn is not that audible.

      By gajendran
      On: Jul 14, 2020 | 52 Views
    • Audio System And Service Of Honda City Not Ok.

      AVN audio system of Honda city2018 model totally froze within 2 years after purchase. I registered the complaint on dated 12/09/2020 and even after more than three months...Read More

      By harish
      On: Nov 26, 2020 | 48 Views
    • Ground clearance is not good.

      I like honda city. Nice looking car is better than Verna. The only issue with ground clearance. All over the best car.

      By hadmat singh
      On: Nov 21, 2020 | 37 Views
    • Best Car In Term Of Looks And Mileage.

      My car mileage is really good compared to other cars in my friends' circle and boot space is bigger than Creta and Kia Seltos. I love my car

      By kuldeep
      On: Oct 24, 2020 | 34 Views
    • Good Car But Tire And Rear Shock Absorbers Issue.

      Good car overall but a little bit bouncy at back And issue with the tire which was provided by the company.

      By shreyansh tibdewal
      On: Oct 17, 2020 | 19 Views
    • Best Sedan In This Budget.

      Honda city is an awesome car. It brings in the right balance between comfort & performance. But the quality is very good and the vehicle is very reliable. The cost of own...Read More

      By arun krishnan
      On: Oct 11, 2020 | 67 Views
    • View All City 4th Generation Reviews
    Honda City 4th Generation
    784 reviews
    Rs. 9.29 - 9.99 Lakh*
    *Ex-showroom Price in New Delhi
    Check December Offers

    Compare Variants of Honda City 4th Generation

    • Petrol
    City 4th Generation SV MTCurrently Viewing
    Rs.9,29,900*EMI: Rs. 19,817
    17.4 kmplManual

    User Reviews on City 4th Generation Alternatives

    *Ex-showroom price in New Delhi

    Trending Honda Cars

    • Popular
    • Upcoming
    ×
    Which is your city ?