Question & Answer

0 Shares
Ask a Question
Search for an Answer
Question

Certain user reviews about Maruti Baleno says that it has very poor rear suspension. Is it true?. Also it is heard that Baleno is made by using light weight material. Is there is any safty problem due to this light weight material

Published On : 2016-10-18 19:52:06.0 Riju
Answers for this Question

The Baleno is equipped with McPherson struts in front and a torsion beam rear suspension. The suspension struts at the rear eat up a little boot space, as they intrude into the cabin. Ride quality is good, although at high speeds the car does feel pretty light. If you hit a rough patch, it does tend to get thrown about – and that’s where you feel how light it is. The Baleno is tuned more for comfort than sportiness, which is a good thing. With 170 mm of ground clearance, the car can handle its fair share of bad roads too. The brakes are sharp and at par with the Maruti Swift’s braking ability. 

A big talking point in the new Baleno is, the fact that it has the new platform which makes it lighter and stronger plus, we may add that in terms of build quality it feels the best from Maruti with both paint finish and overall build being very good.

Well - as per Maruti Suzuki - one of the prime reason for weight reduction is all new chassis 
As per manufacturer - this new chassis is even more rigid and basis the highlights "The innovative new platform has improved the crash resiliency, enhanced the rigidity and improved NVH (Noise, Vibration and Harshness) performance."

Maruti has offered ABS with EBD with dual airbags as standard, which to us is reason enough to buy the Baleno.

We have not heard of any complaints regarding the suspension of the Baleno. In fact, when we had the car for the review, it quite impressed us. In my opinion, it could be a problem or an issue with a particular piece, let that not spoil your choice of car. The only issue that has to come light with respect to the Baleno is the fact that it has long waiting periods and that is there because it is actually a nice, well-rounded package. 

CarDekho Helpdesk on 2016-10-19 11:06:34.0
Post Your Answer
3000 Characters Left

Related Asked Questions

  • what is the difference between intellihybrid and microhybrid in scorpio ? which models of it feature cruise control?

    Published On :2017-05-21 22:13:23.0 By Arun
    Thank you for showing trust in our services and writing to us. Apologies for the delay response. Mahindra Scorpio has a good road presence with aggressive styling. Talking about technology, Micro hybrid refers to the auto engine start/stop system alone. Intelli hybrid includes the engine start/stop and brake energy regeneration system that helps charge the battery (smart alternator) On the other hand, Intelli Hybrid S10 variant and above has cruise control feature loaded with it.
    1
    Answer
  • I have been using a Renault Duster RxL 4WD 2014 model since I bought it new in January 2015. I have clocked 60ooo Kms since and yesterday was shocked when I had a service charges bill for Rs 20,000. I had paid about Rs 18,000 when the car was serviced at 50,000 kms and in all I have paid more than Rs. 70,000 on service since purchasing this car. I am totally lost as to why Renault is charging such high prices for everything, when similar cars get serviced at less than a fourth of what I paid

    Published On :2017-05-25 11:57:52.0 By Arun

    We are amazed to hear about your experience with Renault and we totally understand your concern about the maintenance of the car.

    In order to assist you in right direction, we recommend you to check the bill that was provided to you as it will be having all the charges that are made at the time of servicing of your car as it will clear all your doubts.

    On the other hand, for better clarification we suggest you to talk with service centre as they will be the right person to assist you with same.

    Click here to know an approximate idea of maintenance cost.

    These are estimated maintenance cost detail and cost may vary based on location and condition of car. Service Charge is not including any extra labour charges.

    1
    Answer
  • i want to buy hyundai xcent facelift car. i want to know its engine performance comparing to i20 elite engine. please guide me

    Published On :2017-05-22 23:11:20.0 By Arun

    Hey, its great that you are planning for a new car and Hyundai Xcent is indeed an amazing car. We must appreciate your choice. Hyundai has recently launched the facelift version of the Xcent which has gone through some cosmetic changes on the exteriors and interiors.

    Talking about the performance specifically, this car is being offered with 1.2 diesel and petrol engine. The petrol trim is capable of delivering a power of 84 bhp with a torque of 114 Nm whereas the diesel engine can deliver a power of 74 bhp with a torque of 190 nm.

    Talking about the mileage figures, the diesel motor delivers a maximum mileage of 25.4 kmpl (Highway) whereas the petrol motor delivers a maximum mileage of 20.14 kmpl (Highway).

    Now, there is no direct comparison between the performance between the performance of Hyundai Xcent and Elite i20 because of the engine difference. The petrol trim is same 1.2 liter engine but in diesel, the i20 comes with a 1.4 liter engine.

    Please click here to check the detailed review of Hyundai Xcent and you can also check the comparison between Hyundai Xcent and Elite i20 through here.

    1
    Answer
  • Our requirements are as follows: a. Budget of around 6.5 lakhs, Ex - Showroom price. a. Daily usage of 50-60 Kms. b. Good Leg Room (I

    Published On :2017-05-20 01:05:37.0 By Arun

    Thank you for showing the confidence and writing to us.

    There are ample of options available with the requirements you have listed. As you will be driving 50-60kms.(Approx) daily, we recommend you to opt for a diesel car.

    In Hatchback, options are Maruti Baleno, Hyundai Grand i10, Ford Figo etc.

    To begin with Compact Sedan options are Tata Tigor, Hyundai Xcent, Tata zest etc.

    Hatchback cars are easy to manoeuvre in bumper to bumper traffic conditions whereas sedans cars offers better luggage space and legroom.

    Click here to know more.

    Please find out input below:

    1. Maruti Baleno offers perfect balance of performance and features.

    2. On the other hand, Hyundai Grand i10 has spacious passenger and luggage space and is best suited for city.

    3. Ford Figo, a well-rounded product with 100PS diesel engine is fun to drive.

    4. Tata Tigor it has Multi Drive Mode: Eco & City which is just right for heavy city area.

    5. Tata Zest scored a respectable four-stars in the Global NCAP crash test.

    6. Hyundai Xcent offers better driveability with peppy diesel engine.

    Verdict:

    In you are looking for impressive feature list we suggest you to go for Tata Tigor or Hyundai Xcent. Otherwise, if you will be driving more on highways, we suggest you to go for Volkswagen Ameo or Tata Zest with better performance figures.

    Click here to check for detailed comparison and select the variant accordingly:

    You may also reach to us on our toll free number i.e. 1800-200-3000 from Mon-Fri (10 AM - 7 PM) or write to us at support@cardekho.com. Our team will be more than happy to help you.

    1
    Answer
  • want to know Ameo petrol performance..???

    Published On :2017-05-20 15:22:11.0 By Arun

    Hey,

    We appreciate your interest towards car and your keenness to know the performance of VW Ameo. 

    Firstly talking about petrol variant, the petrol 1.2-litre is a tried and tested engine, 73bhp is what it produces and there's 110Nm of torque on offer and you might say the power is pretty sufficient for the segment. 

    About diesel, 1.5-litre, 4 cylinder diesel engine, which has been used in the Polo and the Vento, and it now makes its way into the Ameo. But what VW has managed to extract is more power out of this unit, which means that the Ameo is more powerful than the Polo. What Volkswagen has also managed to give the Ameo is a 5-speed manual and a 7-speed DSG. The 5-speed manual is a familiar unit and the gearshifts are smooth, which makes it a good companion, in both city traffic conditions and out on the highway.  

    Moreover, click here to read the "Volkswagen Ameo First Drive Review". 

    Click here to read the "Volkswagen Ameo Diesel: First Drive Review"

    1
    Answer

Advertisement

close

location

Please tell us your city

It will help us serve you better content and best deals

eg. Mumbai, Gurgaon, Delhi
My Comparison